Retreat 2011 ~ Mandala Meditation ~ The Beginning

Tuesday afternoon, following our Izzy’s fabulous Vegan Minestrone and Lentil Stew, we reassembled, with a full afternoon of fascinating processes.

We begin with the Mandala Meditation. After a calming process and some intuitive delving, we each travel into our circular mandala shape on our journal page with a personal animal and their message/design to illustrate. These pages become very personal … especially with little references (we did bring the fantastic, “Animal Speaks” by Andrews) so all design work comes from one’s interior visions.

One of our retreat participants envisioned the mystical and beautiful “Dragonfly”. I love how her animal breaks out of the mandala accentuated by the blue/golden color compliment choices. The poetic charm of Cookie’s clean text replicates the delicate lines of the dragonflies gossamer wing windows. Lovely work, eh?

The vision that came to me was rather disgusting . . . well, at least initially . . .  “the Tomato Worm”! This colorful yet disturbing insect filled my mandala circle rather delightfully. And words that came along with my Tomato Worm were: “voracious, momentum, growing” so I jotted them down adjacent to my image.

When I returned home, my Tomato Worm vision continued to intrigue me. I was especially conflicted, not seeing a deeper meaning to my mandala. I spoke to friends  about it’s history, it’s meaning and it’s life cycles. One dear friend especially enlightened and pushed my creative juices into new places . . . Irene Brady (http://www.natureworkspress.com/autobio.html), who suggesting I investigate into what my Tomato Worm turns. And there . . . a whole new world began for me . . . I’ll elaborate in the next exciting post.

About namastenoodle2011

An artist, a hopeful, an encourager, a loyal friend, a heart connecter seeking to share the goodness in life and development of becoming more free to express.
This entry was posted in 2011 Retreat, Journal, Retreat, technique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

