2011 Retreat ~ Contour Drawing/Intuition Exercise

Tuesday morn’s Journaling Workshop started out with my Paperclay process and quickly moved into Jean’s “Contour Drawing/Intuition Exercise”. For this process, we all ambled down to the lake’s  brilliantly crisp and earthy shore. Jean and I had earlier walked the water’s edge for a spot comfy for all and possessing interesting, yet simple objects. Once we were all settled, Jean gave us instructions.

My experience was fascinating. Between closed eyes for meditation, where I became keenly aware of smells, sounds and air movement, I’d ink in my contour drawing of first this small, tortured tree. As my process deepened I moved into the background and finally, became in touch with the energy of many Miwok Indians (know to live and summer in this area). To illustrate the etherial quality of the Indian spirits, I kept their edges soft, transparent. I loved this method of interpretation and many of the participants had differing yet enlightening experiences.

What I relish most about this exercise was the intense attunement to nature alternating with executing my expression of what I was experiencing . . . pretty dynamic!! Try it some time.

About namastenoodle2011

An artist, a hopeful, an encourager, a loyal friend, a heart connecter seeking to share the goodness in life and development of becoming more free to express.
This entry was posted in 2011 Retreat, Journal, journal samples, Retreat, technique. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2011 Retreat ~ Contour Drawing/Intuition Exercise

  1. kitty says:

    how good to relive happy moments from our summer retreat – thanks Elaine for re-resurecting fond memories.
    And a very happy fruitful painting filled new year to all
    Love Kitty

Leave a Reply

